

Dublin GAA Club scoops top AIB award of 17,000 2nd February 2004

Templeogue based GAA club St. Jude's are celebrating after picking up the top award at the 2003 AIB GAA Club of the Year awards, which were announced earlier today in Croke Park. St. Jude's, who also won the Leinster award, saw off the challenge of fellow Provincial award winners Portumna (Connaught), Patrickswell (Munster) and Malin (Ulster), to take the top award, and pick up the additional prize fund of €10,000.

Speaking about the Awards, Donal Forde, Managing Director AIB said, "We are delighted to have initiated the Club of the Year awards, and to be in a position to acknowledge the contribution that GAA clubs around the country make to their local community. Through this award scheme, we are able to honour the countless dedicated volunteers who work behind the scenes in administration, fundraising and ground development. Without them, and their work, there would be no clubs". St. Jude's has grown from a fledgling club with just two juvenile teams in their inaugural year of 1978, to a vibrant club that now boasts 54 teams across all grades and codes. The judges commended St. Jude's for their proactive role within their local community, and their excellent work promoting the game within their local schools. The club linked up with their local soccer club to construct an all weather pitch, which has proved hugely beneficial to both clubs and their community at large.

The 32 County winners (full list provided) were all presented with their certificates and development cheques by Donal Forde, Managing Director AIB and Seán Kelly, GAA President.

The total prize money received by the winning club came to €17,000, including €2,000 for the Dublin County award, and €5,000 for the Provincial Award for Leinster. Each of the three provincial winners received a €5,000 development cheque, on top of the €2,000 received for winning the county award. In addition to the development awards, all of the competing clubs were entered into a draw. The winner of the small club category was Cumann Peile na bPiarsaigh, Co naGaillimhe and the winner of the large club category was Holy-Cross Ballycahill GAA Club, Co Tipperary. Both clubs were presented with vouchers towards club gear worth €3,000 each.

President of the GAA, Mr. Sean Kelly, said that he was delighted to be once again associated with AIB in such a worthwhile venture. "The club is without doubt the most important unit of the Association," he said. "The current strength of the Association comes from the tremendous work that takes place year in year out at grassroots level. Congratulations must go not just to St. Jude's, and all our winning clubs here today, but also to each and every club around the country who entered this awards scheme. It is a testament to the strength and purpose of our clubs that they continue to provide playing, social and coaching facilities that are the envy of so many other organisations."

-End-

For further information please contact: Caroline Reynolds or Máire Scully, WHPR, Tel: 01 6690173 or 087 9089807 / 087 8229456 caroline.Reynolds@ogilvy.com / maire.scully@ogilvy.com